The Church Escuela de Cristo, is located in the city of Antigua Guatemala. The temple was founded in the chapel of Vera Cruz in 1664 and since 1689 was known as the Congregation of San Felipe de Neri. Due to the earthquakes of San Miguel of 1717 the construction was damaged, being completed its reconstruction in 1730 under the direction of Architect Major Diego de Porres.
After the earthquake of Santa Marta in 1773, the church moved to the facilities of the parish church Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, after it moved to the New Guatemala de la Asunción. Its facade boasts a Renaissance architecture and is made of stone, such as the church of Capuchinas, characteristic that differentiates them from other temples of the locality. The church is located in the southwest corner of La Antigua Guatemala eight blocks from Central Park, in direction of the town Santa Maria de Jesus over the Street Calle de los Pasos.
The Church Escuela de Cristo differs from the other constructions of the colonial city: there was no need of stucco to cover the work and it´s design is quite symmetrical and simple; only the steeples are white. It remains today in a good condition and it is open to the public.